Pilot Grant Recipients - Round #105 Regenerative Medicine

3 awards funded

  • RBD Targeted Delivery of Bacterial Effector Protein Nanoparticles for Treatment of COVID-19 Associated Hyper-Inflammation ($75,000)
    • Dr. Julie A. Champion, Associate Professor, School of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology
    • Dr. Andrew S. Neish, Professor, Department of Pathology, Emory University School of Medicine
  • Use of biocompatible hydrogel encapsulated with iPSC derived notochordal cells for regeneration of Intervertebral disc in mice ($100,000)
    • Hicham Drissi, Ph.D., Professor and Vice-Chairman Research, Department of Orthopaedics, School of Medicine, Emory University
    • Johnna S. Temenoff, Ph.D.,  Carol Ann, and David D. Flanagan Professor, Associate Chair for Translational Research, Deputy Director, NSF Engineering Research Center on Cell Manufacturing Technologies, Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering Georgia Tech/Emory University
    • Mohd Nazir Khan, Ph.D. Instructor, Department of Orthopaedics, School of Medicine, Emory University
  • Engineered exosome as a delivery shuttle of antisense oligonucleotide therapy for amyotrophic lateral sclerosis ($125,000)
    • Yao Yao, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Regenerative Bioscience Center, Animal & Dairy Science Department, University of Georgia
    • Jie Jiang, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Cell Biology, Emory University