Pilot Grant Recipients - Round #124 SOM I3 Rapid Synergy (11/2022)

3 awards funded, $300,000 total

  • Humoral and Cellular Immunity in Monkeypox Infected Individuals With and Without HIV
    • Rama Amara (microbiology and immunology) and Colleen Kelley (medicine)
  • High Throughput Screening Studies for Discovery of Monkeypox Virus Inhibitors 
    • Stefan Sarafinos (pediatrics), Haian Fu (pharmacology and chemical biology), Philip Tedbury (pediatrics), and Yuhong Du (pharmacology)
  • Determining Jail-Wide Viral Loads of Mpox and Presence of Other Pathogens via Wastewater Surveillance: Capabilities of Laboratory Science and Opinions of Former Residents
    • Anne Spaulding (epidemiology, RSPH), Marlene Wolfe (environmental health, RSPH), and Rasheeta Chandler (SON)